2023 Conn Smythe Trophy Analysis: Connor McDavid Goes Favorite with Bruins and Pastrnak’s Exit

profile image of Eric.Kelly
Connor McDavid #97 of the Edmonton Oilers celebrates a 5-4 win against the Los Angeles Kings. Ronald Martinez/Getty Images/AFP

Awarded to the best player during the playoffs, the Conn Smythe Trophy is one of the most prestigious individual awards to receive as an NHL player.

Now that we have completed round one of the NHL postseason, it’s time to take a look at the betting odds for this year’s winner, with odds courtesy of the top betting sites for US players.

Conn Smythe Trophy Odds

The Contenders

Edmonton Oilers

  • Connor McDavid (+600)
  • Leon Draisaitl (+1200)

Without a doubt one of the best players in the league, if not the best in the world, Connor McDavid ended the regular season with a career-high 153 points scored.

Now that David Pastrnak and the Bostin Bruins have been sent packing, the Oilers center has moved into the clear favorite for this year’s award, but first, the Oilers will have to get to the finals, which they have failed to do since 2008.

Despite being kept in check by the LA Kings during round one, McDavid still managed to score 3 goals and 7 assists in six games. If the Oilers win it all there is no doubt McDavid will be getting his hands on the trophy, even if he isn’t the best player on the roster during the playoffs.

For this reason alone, we simply can’t risk betting Leon Draisaitl, who admittedly deserves the trophy just as much. The German-born player would have to go above and beyond during these playoffs to be in with a chance of the trophy should the Oilers lift the cup.

Toronto Maple Leafs

  • Auston Matthews (+850)
  • Mitch Marner (+1200)

Admittedly, Auston Matthews' odds at +850 to win the Conn Smythe award looks like value right now, considering that the Toronto Maple Leafs are +350 favorites to lift this year’s trophy. One would have to suspect it will be either Matthews or Mitch Marner from this Toronto team getting their hands on the award.

With Marner priced up at +1200, it could be a perfect semi-hedging opportunity for your NHL picks, as we know the award will go to one of these two should the Leafs lift the trophy.

Both Mathews and Marner lead the Leafs this postseason with 11 (Marner) and 9 (Matthews) points respectively.

Conn Smythe Trophy Facts and Stats

Essentially, it's best to target a player who you believe has a solid chance of winning the Stanley Cup or at least can make it to the finals.

On top of this, the goaltenders and centers have won the vast majority of the awards (51% combined).

  • First awarded in 1964/65, the Conn Smythe trophy has been won by a player whose team won the Stanley Cup 91% of the time.
  • Ex-Montreal Canadiens and Colorado Avalanche player Patrick Roy has won the award the most (3 times).
  • The Average odds of the Conn Smythe trophy winner within the previous 9 seasons have been +1200.
  • The last Conn Smythe awarded to a non-Stanley Cup champion was in 2003. The time before that was 1987, meaning just twice in the past 37 seasons has it happened.
  • Conn Smythe trophy winners by position:
    • Centers (19)
    • Wingers (9)
    • Defencemen (12)
    • Goaltending (17)

Rest of the Best

Dallas Stars

  • Roope Hintz (+1200)

Currently leading the postseason with 12 points in total, the Dallas Stars center Roope Hintz has been on fire during the playoffs. In the first six games, he has bagged himself two assist hat-tricks as well as one goal hat-trick.

If the Dallas Stars go all the way to the finals, there’s a possibility Hintz can get his hands on the trophy, although the Stars have multiple players who could possibly win the award, right now it seems Hintz is the most likely option at +1200.

Vegas Golden Knights

  • Jack Eichel (+1600)

Although Eichel hasn’t put up the most points on this Vegas team thus far in the postseason, he has the ability to take control of a series or two, having ended the season as the Golden Knights' top scorer with 66 points in 67 games.

Eichel is a vastly underrated player – maybe to his own detriment at times – but at +1600 he must be respected, and if the Golden Knights get their hands on the trophy, you feel it would likely be going to Eichel or Mark Stone winning the award.

*The line and/or odds in this article might have moved since the content was commissioned. For updated line movements, visit BMR’s free betting odds product.