NFL Picks Against the Spread for Week 14: Dog Day Afternoon

profile image of Swinging.Johnson
063_1357755639-aspect-ratio-16-9
DK Metcalf #14 of the Seattle Seahawks after catching a TD against the San Francisco 49ers in Week 13. Steph Chambers/Getty Images/AFP

Each week Swinging Johnson delivers his NFL picks and predicts the score for each game on the NFL slate.

Let’s see how he does this time around as we head into Week 14 and see what Swinger thinks of this week’s upcoming games.

Swinger’s 2021 Pick All Record (37-23 ATS)

MORE PICKS: Check Out The Donnie and Kyle Show: NFL Best Bets Week 14

Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Minnesota Vikings 

Thursday, December 09, 2021 – 08:20 PM EST at U.S. Bank Stadium

I like the Vikings in a bounce-back game here. They had a horrible loss to the Lions last week and could have been overlooking dismal Detroit in anticipation of facing the Steelers this week.

The Vikings have an excellent pass rush which should rattle Big Ben in the pocket. I expect the Vikes to win and get the cover in this one.

Final Score Prediction: Vikings 24 – Steelers 19

NFL Pick: Vikings -3 (-123) at Heritage Sports (visit our Heritage Sports Review)

Heritage Sports logo
Vikings -3 (-123)
Visit Site

Baltimore Ravens vs. Cleveland Browns

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 01:00 PM EST at FirstEnergy Stadium

The Browns have had two weeks to stew about their 16-10 loss to the Ravens in Baltimore and can now avenge that loss in front of their home crowd.

The Ravens lost their other starting cornerback last week and will now be without Marcus Peters and Marlon Humphrey which will allow Baker Mayfield to locate and hit his targets. It’s time for revenge and the Browns get theirs this Sunday.

Final Score Prediction: Browns 26 – Ravens 17

NFL Pick: Browns -2½ (-123) at Heritage Sports

Heritage Sports logo
Browns -2½ (-123)
Visit Site

Jacksonville Jaguars vs. Tennessee Titans

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 1:00 PM EST at Nissan Stadium

The Titans might be getting Julio Jones back this week but is he really the same dominant player he once was when carving out a Hall-of-Fame career in Atlanta?

I think not and couple that with the myriad of injuries the Titans have endured and it’s not surprising to see how far they have fallen. The Jags are getting too many points here so let’s grab them and see Jax hang within the margins.

Final Score Prediction: Titans 23 – Jaguars 16

NFL Pick: Jaguars +8½ (-110) at Bovada (visit our Bovada Review)

Bovada logo
Jaguars +8½ (-110)
Visit Site

Las Vegas Raiders vs. Kansas City Chiefs 

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 01:00 PM EST at GEHA Field in Arrowhead Stadium

This game was the basis of my weekly Point/Counterpoint discussion with BMR’s own, Doug Upstone. Doug kept banging the drum for the Chiefs but I told him he was too good to be that square.

I advised a play on the Raiders for several reasons but the most compelling of which is that the Chiefs defense is playing better but their offense is sputtering, and when you give the No. 2 passing team in the league a 10-point head start, that’s all I need to see.

Final Score Prediction: Chiefs 27 – Raiders 21

NFL Pick: Raiders +10 (-108) at Heritage Sports

Heritage Sports logo
Raiders +10 (-108)
Visit Site

New Orleans Saints vs. New York Jets

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 01:00 PM EST at MetLife Stadium

Taysom Hill will have a splint on his middle finger on his throwing hand after getting injured last week in New Orleans’ fifth straight loss, a 27-17 setback to the Cowboys.

And although he will be playing injured, and on the road, he and the shame-spiraling Saints will be laying 5½ in hostile territory? Ah, check please, I’ll take a private Jet to Moneytown, Manhattan.

Final Score Prediction: Jets 23 – Saints 21

NFL Pick: Jets +5½ (-110) at BetOnline (visit our BetOnline Review)

BetOnline logo
Jets +5½ (-110)
Visit Site

Dallas Cowboys vs. Washington Football Team

Sunday, December 12, 2021- 1:00 PM EST at FedEx Field

It’s been difficult for the Cowboys with all of the injuries they’ve sustained this year but it appears they will all be healthy for this one and Dak Prescott’s big arm will be torching the WFT secondary all afternoon long. Let’s lay it with the invaders from Dallas.

Final Score Prediction: Cowboys 29 – Washington 20

NFL Pick: Cowboys -4 (-110) at BetOnline

BetOnline logo
Cowboys -4 (-110)
Visit Site

Atlanta Falcons vs. Carolina Panthers

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 1:00 PM EST at Bank of America Stadium

Watching Carolina’s Cam Newton play quarterback is like me trying on my skinny jeans from high school. Neither fits. What I do know is the Falcons, for all of their woes, still have a very capable quarterback in Matt Ryan so that’s where my money is going…if I were to bet this game…which I’m not.

Final Score Prediction: Falcons 27 – Panthers 25

NFL Pick: Falcons +2½ (-105) at BetOnline

BetOnline logo
Falcons +2½ (-105)
Visit Site

Seattle Seahawks vs. Houston Texans

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 01:00 PM EST at NRG Stadium

If you want a big ol’ square play in what I feel will be a dog day afternoon then here you go. I think Russell Wilson is now completely recovered from his finger injury even if he did come back too soon and it showed in his play until last week.

He will have a field day against the dreadful Texans defense and I don’t see how Houston stays within the margins here.

Final Score Prediction: Seahawks 34 – Texans 22

NFL Pick: Seahawks -8½ (-110) at Bovada

Bovada logo
Seahawks -8½ (-110)
Visit Site

Detroit Lions vs. Denver Broncos

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 04:05 PM EST at Empower Field in Mile High

In recent weeks the Lions have tied the Steelers, lost by three points to the Browns, then by two points to the Bears before beating the Vikings last week. The Broncos have a very good defense but are ranked 23rd in scoring as I pointed out in my Swinger’s Week 14 Picks this week.

The NFL odds at all of the best sportsbooks are giving the Lions between 9 and 9½ and that’s just too many points for a team to lay that’s as offensively challenged as Denver.

Final Score Prediction: Broncos 24 – Lions 19

NFL Pick: Lions +9½ (-108) at Heritage Sports

Heritage Sports logo
Lions +9½ (-108)
Visit Site

New York Giants vs. Los Angeles Chargers

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 04:05 PM EST at SoFi Stadium

We don’t know who will be suiting up under center as Daniel Jones has been hurt and Mike Glennon is concussed leaving only the untested Jake Fromm if both of those two can’t go.

On the other side, Keenan Allen may not play leaving Justin Herbert without his top target. This is a pass for me but if you need action grab the points.

Final Score Prediction: Chargers 29 – Giants 21

NFL Pick: Giants +10 (-110) at BetOnline

BetOnline logo
Giants +10 (-110)
Visit Site

San Francisco 49ers vs. Cincinnati Bengals

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 04:25 PM EST at Paul Brown Stadium 

If Joe Burrow can throw effectively after hurting his pinky finger last week, then he could destroy the Niners’ secondary but if he’s not then he could get rattled by their pass rush and buckle due to his banged-up offensive line.

But I like the kid and I believe the Bengals will get back on track after dropping a 41-22 decision to the Chargers last week. The line has dropped revealing the sharps are on the Cats and so am I.

Final Score Prediction: Bengals 33 – 49ers 26

NFL Pick: Bengals +1½ (-110) at BetOnline

BetOnline logo
Bengals +1½ (-110)
Visit Site

Buffalo Bills vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Sunday, December 12, 2021- 4:25 PM EST at Raymond James Stadium

I’m big on the Bills this week after Josh Allen and his offense were stymied by a tempest inside Highmark Stadium on Monday night against the Patriots.

They should be able to take advantage of a poor Bucs’ secondary and won’t worry about running the ball - because they never do - so the Bucs’ steel curtain of a run-stop unit won’t be doing any heavy lifting on Sunday. I think this is one shootout Tom Terrific is going to lose.

Final Score Prediction: Bills 36 – Bucs 34

NFL Pick: Bills +3½ (-115) at BetOnline

BetOnline logo
Bills +3½ (-115)
Visit Site

Chicago Bears vs. Green Bay Packers 

Sunday, December 12, 2021 – 08:20 PM EST at Lambeau Field

The Packers are coming off of their bye week and ready to roll as the preeminent threat to dethrone the Bucs as NFC champs. The Bears' defense, once a strength, is no longer after Khalil Mack and now Akiem Hicks have gone down with injuries.

How the Bears stop a well-rested Packers offense is anyone’s guess but I say they won’t.

Final Score Prediction: Packers 43 – Bears 24

NFL Pick: Packers -12 (-108) at Heritage Sports

Heritage Sports logo
Packers -12 (-108)
Visit Site

Los Angeles Rams vs. Arizona Cardinals

Monday, December 13, 2021 – 08:15 PM EST at State Farm Stadium

What an awesome Monday night matchup this should be if both teams come out blazing. Kyler Murray and DeAndre Hopkins are now healthy and that does not bode well for the Rams.

The Redbirds also have tight end Zach Ertz who will be a problem child for the Rams and one who wasn’t there in the first meeting when Arizona defeated LA, 37-20. I see a repeat in the desert.

Final Score Prediction: Cardinals 34 – Rams 27

NFL Pick: Cardinals -3 (-108) at Heritage Sports

Heritage Sports logo
Cardinals -3 (-108)
Visit Site

*The line and/or odds on picks in this article might have moved since the content was commissioned. For updated line movements, visit BMR’s free betting odds product.